Turkey Noodle Soup

So I carved my turkey from my previous recipe, and was left with my turkey carcass and made this amazing turkey noodle soup that is absolutely to-die-for!  I must share my recipe before I forgot what I did.

I tried to get as much of the scraps of meat off my turkey carcass as I could and reserved the good pieces for the soup.  I still left some skin  and stuff on the carcass to help flavor the soup.  I ended up breaking the carcass in half so I could fit it in my pan and not have too much liquid, and I put the drumstick bones back in the pot too.  I poured chicken broth over the carcass in my soup pot and added water until it was covered up.  Add a bay leaf, and onion cut in half, a carrot cut into big chunks, and some tyme.  I coved it and let it come to a boil, then uncovered and reduced to a simmer for just over an hour.

Once that was done, I took out my carcass with tongs and tried to strip it even more.  Kept the good stuff for the soup, and then left the other stuff for the dogs and threw the bones away.  Strain everything else in the pan and reserve the broth you made and throw away everything else.

Clean your soup pot out a little and put it back on the burner with some olive oilm a pad of butter, and a coup of the turkey drippings if you saved it.  Add two cloves of garlic smashed and then chopped up a little more.  Then add some chopped onion and a peeled and sliced carrot.  Cook over medium-low heat for about 7 minutes or carrots get a little tender.

Pour broth back into soup pan with onion and carrot mixture.  Add another bay leaf and bring to a low boil.  Add about 3/4 of a bag of wide egg noodles and a cubed potato and cook for 10 minutes.  Stir in the shredded turkey that you would like to add to the soup.  I used all the left over brown meat pieces, about 3/4 of a cup.  Remove pot from heat and cover and let sit 5 to 10 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

